The Evolving Spring Garden

Last week, the front garden really came into its own.  This bed faces south, so it gets a head start on the rest of my garden patches (and it needs the head start, since the city’s maple tree will soon be shading it).  These pictures are from April 30, 2011.

I love the way different plants emerge and transform every day, almost in front of my eyes.  In fact, this is the time is the time of year when I spend long moments outside just looking.  I am often teased by my neighbors who ask me “Are you praying over your plants?” or “Do you think they will come up faster if you watch them?” and so on.  Looking back now on the pictures of the first crocuses, it’s funny to think how excited I was then.  Then I thought they were gorgeous, now I think they look so scraggly and bare!

Here’s a close-up photo, where you can see more individual plants.  The bulbs – grape hyacinth, mini narcissus and a few purple and purple-tinged white tulips- provide most of the colors at this time of the year.  The heuchera, deep red and green versions, have leafed out now.  There’s a beautiful large-leafed clover that arrived on its own this spring, and I’ve decided it’s not a weed.  In the top right, you can see the few hostas and an astilbe that I have left in for now, until I can establish more shade-loving, dry-tolerant natives.  And then there’s lots of day lily greens – mostly these are Stella D’Oro that were here when I started.

We do have snow in April in Boston in many years, but when this variety emerges, I know the winter is really over.

Leave a Reply

