First Spring Flowers 2011

The crocuses in my south-facing bed have bloomed!  I love the little bits of yellow and purple, and the promise of spring weather to come.  I always find that in a photo, they are not nearly as attractive as I think they are in real life.  I think the reality is that they really do arrive before anything else native, so they appear among dirt and scruffy winter survivors.  I overlook this when I’m enjoying them in the midst of early spring’s dreary landscape, but the photo shows that context.  A few weeks from now, everything will be more lush (I hope).

But up close, it’s hard to resist the appeal of these beautiful little blooms.  I even saw a couple of bees out among them.

One thought on “First Spring Flowers 2011”

Leave a Reply

